The Things We Don’t Think About!

Today was a pretty good day, I think. I enrolled Chris in a transportation program here in Norman. He was approved and for very little expense they will come to the house and pick us up in the bus and take us anywhere in Norman that we want to go. They have a very nice lift and ways to secure his chair in the van for transport. We used it last week once just to get a feel for how it worked and then today we went out again. I plan on taking it about once a week for awhile since I take him in the car about once a week. As with all new experiences there are some good things and some “not-so-good” things.

The Good Points
It is really good to have a tiny piece of independence back. All I do is call the day before and tell them where I want to go, what time I want to leave and how long I want to stay. They call me back with the schedule they were able to work out. It costs a dollar for Chris each way and nothing for me – since he requires an “attendant.” I figure even though we have to wait on the curb for awhile before they get here and we have to ride around while they let other people off sometimes it’s still worth the $2 to not have to try and get Chris in and out of the car by myself! Last week we went to Wal-Mart and were able to grab a few items, this week we went to Hastings. The bus drivers have been really nice and helpful! They don’t act like it is even one bit of an inconvenience to get him in the bus and out again… I really appreciate that.

Side Note: I think I have started gaining a better hold emotionally as I literally bought nothing today! I saw a couple of books that interested me and all sorts of cool gadgets I would love to have – but didn’t purchase a thing. I had gone through a time where I sort of “bought to have.” I feel like it was because of the great loss (of my son) I had experienced and I could at least have something. Anyway I didn’t even buy a cup of coffee in the coffee shop! Hey -progress is progress – don’t knock it! lol

The Things We Don’t Think Of
The trip wears Chris out! He was not having a good day but I was not sure I could cancel the ride and the weather was great so we went anyway. He is still somewhat uneasy in the bus – but it’s a pretty bumpy ride. He is also still pretty jumpy at all the clanking that is involved in getting his chair secured. But I do think even though he was having a rough day today he did somewhat better. I had to constantly readjust him in the chair too and he kept holding his head to one side – he hasn’t done that in a long time! But he did stay awake and look around the store with me. I like that he was somewhat engaged .. so that makes it worth it to me.

I am not really used to pushing his chair around stores. It felt like we were in everybody’s way! We probably weren’t bothering most of them at all.. but I really want to stick my tongue out at people who stare. I think I will create me a “Dear Adult” T-shirt for when I take Chris out.. maybe it is partly my own inhibitions and strange feelings but it seems like they are looking at me with this “why are you bringing him here?” look. Gripes me that’s all. It’s not easy to just maneuver around the store either – it can be stressful and all I can do is hope I get used to it…

Here’s the funny part. It didn’t happen yet – but I have this fear of needing to go to the bathroom while we are out. Think about it… I can’t take Chris in with me…I can’t leave him in the hallway unattended. And I certainly cannot leave him with a total stranger while I take care of this personal business! lol! For now our trips will time-limited to ensure that I can wait until we get home! lol — the things we don’t always think about!

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

