Wait and See

Tomorrow is a big day for us. Chris has another MRI scheduled. This is the first one since the wreck, so he hasn’t had one in nearly 4 years unless there’s one in there somewhere that I have forgotten about. He’s been home for 2.5 years so I know he hasn’t had one in that amount of time! lol. I have mixed emotions about it. On one hand no matter what the results show it won’t change what I am doing with him. I guess I am sort of apprehensive about it though because I am afraid if it shows permanent damage in any areas I don’t want to fight discouragement. But then I tell myself that it doesn’t really matter as I continue to see improvements nearly everyday.

I hope to start him on a new schedule on Wednesday…if all goes as planned.I want to step up his home “therapy.” I have learned a lot by watching a lot of really good therapists in all three disciplines and want to start using more of what I have seen him do for them. I also have purchased several books that can help. Recently I have also read 2 books and started a 3rd one written by families who have taken care of their sons who had TBIs.They have been both encouraging and discouraging at the same time. On one hand, it is encouraging because some of these families had the same terrible diagnosis we first got with Chris – we were first told that he could never wake up and he would just be a vegetable never able to do anything but breathe and sleep. Well, they were obviously wrong! Of course by the time we left the ICU the diagnosis had changed. One of the first things I read in a support group was that the doctors do not have the final word. Certainly found that to be true. I guess what was discouraging was that most of the kids injured got better in a matter of months – not years. Oh well.. progress is progress no matter how slow.

I took Chris to the zoo today – some may have seen the pics on facebook. I chose today for two reasons. One because the weather was nice and two because the zoo is free on Mondays during the winter months. But Chris was not happy at all. He tensed up and kept his head down most of the time. It was really loud, windy and lots of people so there was lots of stimuli. He was unhappy from the time I got him out of the bed though. If I let it be, it can be very discouraging. I do all the planning and all and he responds negatively. I have to believe that there was benefit in it for him no matter how he acted. It was positive for me anyway because my daughter and grandkids were there!

For tonight – we wait. Don’t know when we will get the MRI results, but it really won’t matter ultimately.I will still have to keep trusting and moving forward. I suppose that will never stop – even when he gets better I’ll just have to keep trusting and believing- even while we wait. Here’s a picture of Chris today. We went through the drive through at Mcdonalds to get me a happy meal. Chris turned and started glaring at me! lol.. guess he wanted a bite. I explained he needs to start eating good before I can share my fries with him! lol

711535_10200270252348491_626536594_n

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rachel on January 29, 2013 - 3:17 am

    Just remember no matter the outcome you do have alot of people supporting you! And way to go for taking him to the zoo! That’s lots if hard work! I’m sure he really did enjoy getting out. He is just stubborn and didn’t wanna show it like my don can be.

    Like

    • #2 by Rachel on January 29, 2013 - 3:18 am

      meant son not don

      Like

      • #3 by Jeanie Olinger on January 29, 2013 - 7:03 am

        I was sure you meant “son”! lol. I think the fresh air and getting out is just good for him – he really needs it no matter how stubborn he is. Thank you for your comments. I must admit that even in the difficulty of getting him out – it was good for me to get out too. I hope to be successful enough to get a mobility van for us – then getting out will not be nearly as difficult! Thanks for reading…J

        Like

Leave a Reply

