God’s Giant Me-raser

Sometimes it seems like God has this huge eraser and He can just wipe it all clean. I’m not sure how He does it at all, but it happens. Like this week, I have really struggled. Overall I think I do at least fair with the situation I’ve been handed. But then there are those days where I get sucked in and life spits me out. Those are the times I tend to explode on God. But you know what? He’s big enough to handle it. He made me and so He understands me. He remember that I am only flesh and blood and sometimes my emotions can run totally away with me. But He has broad enough shoulders to carry me through even when I cannot see or feel HIm near. He can take my tongue lashing and my doubt and do what He does best and I do worst…wait.

When I am down it is really difficult sometimes to do the daily devotions for caregivers. I feel like I need it most, but I hate it on days when I just don’t have it to give. But yesterday as I was thinking about it I saw this scripture and figured I could use it in today’s post. (www.dailydevotionsforcaregivers.blogspot.com) Mica 7:8 says this: Do not gloat over me, my enemies! For though I fall, I will rise again. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord HImself will be my light.

This morning when I got up I was just feeling better. I have no idea why. It’s just that I let the emotions get out of control on this full plate of mine…and it can be quite a mess to clean up. Sometimes I feel bad for feeling bad! But as one of my friends told me recently – I really need to give myself a break somtimes…it’s not an easy life to live and if anyone is going to cut me some slack, it should be me! (after all, I am the only one who has to live with me!!)

In preparing for the devotion this morning I turned to Micah 7:8 and read it again and then I found the coolest thing…and example of God’s Me-raser. Because in verse 9 it says this: I will bear the indignation of the Lord because I have sinned against HIm until He pleads my case and executes justice for me. He will bring me out to the light, and I will see His righteousness. I was like, What?!?  I sin and He pleads my case? I lose faith while He remains faith-full!?! I am groping around in the dark trying to find a thread of hope somewhere and He remains hope-full….for me?!? wow…

What a story of grace…

What a song of mercy…

underserved…

misunderstood…

yet remaining and strong.

I’m glad God has a big me-raser –now I can make it one more day on this journey of life.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Clyta on July 13, 2011 - 2:25 pm

    This is so good, Jeanie. You sound so human! I don’t know how you do it without more complaining and grumpiness. Hang in there, girl. This blog really ministered to me today, and I’m sure to many other readers.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on July 13, 2011 - 3:59 pm

      My dear friend,
      I am so glad you were able to get at least a little something out of my ramblings! As for the grumpiness… I try to not let too much of it leak out into the blog… but then there are some days!!

      love ya,
      jeanie

      Like

  2. #3 by Jeannie Brown on July 14, 2011 - 10:07 am

    This is GREAT!!!!!!! Wonderful, encouraging, uplifting. Keep up the good work!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

