Did Something!

Well, it may not be much but I started a broadcast for caregivers yesterday. It will be geared totally toward them and the rest of the world doesn’t have to “get it.” Of course – they can “get it” if they want to.. but in my experience so far – most don’t want to get out of their little comfortable boxes to find out what our worlds are really like. There are some exceptions for which I am thankful…for sure!

I think it really wears on me though – I get so tired of people trying to get me to go  to church. They have no idea how totally not feasible that is. Chris is not real alert most mornings to begin with  – and by 7 at night he’s pretty tired. (especially the days I push him more)

I spoke with a friend in another state this morning and that was one of her main concerns have you found a church home?  I tried to keep back the laugh and nicely comment about not being able to get out much…that I cannot take Chris yet…her heart was right and no offense was taken…and I appreciate her concern.. but wouldn’t a better question be do you get time to fellowship with God every day? Now that brings with it a little conviction too… I like that one.

I had this strange illusion that I was coming home to Oklahoma and all my friends would be glad to see me… I had one friend come once and then I had lots send messages through Ronella that they are going to call sometime… I sure am glad I am not waiting on them to live! lol! I don’t really even care anymore…it was just an illusion.

But yesterday I did have an old friend come by (not that she – or we – are old.. just we’ve known each other for a really long time… ) it was just great to share a cup of coffe and laugh and carry on some real good debates about the interpretation of scriptures! I hugged her twice and told her it was great for her to stop by! She lives in another state…but I hope to see her again soon!!

DOn’t get me wrong -I’m not complaining by any means…I just wish the church (we are all the church) could see past the four walls…I looked for a church service to join yesterday morning.. via video… there were lots of churches saying that they were for hurting people… but every single thing revolved around attending their church…Maybe that’s one reason Jesus traveled so much – so we’d figure out that we were supposed to go. Keith Green said it this way Jesus told us to go, it should be the exception if we stay.

I am wanting to go back and study the baby church.. which was more mature than our “maturity”…they came together no doubt. But it was to share what they’d seen God do that week  and to encourage each other to go back out and follow Him again! I want to be found following Hm….and I’m determined to figure it out!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jeannie on June 14, 2011 - 12:11 am

    Jeanie
    The “church” as we know it is about to change into “church” as we have never known before. My husband says it like this, “in this next move of God, the early Apostles will look like kindergarten.” The “church” is moving out of the four walls. If you are in the four walls, you will miss what God is about to do. He has prepared us (you) for such a time as this. This is your preparation time, to equip you like you have never been equipped. To thoroughly furnish you, so that you have nothing lacking. To connect you with the right people, who will walk in agreement with you instead of “kicking against the pricks” as it was said to Saul before he became Paul.

    You have much to which to look forward, not behind you. Behind you is a burnt over field, a desolate wilderness. Before you is the garden of Eden. Press forward to the mark of the prize of the High Calling that is in Christ Jesus.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on June 14, 2011 - 1:26 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing. I appeciate your input. I really like the statement “if you are in the four walls, you will miss what God is about to do.” It so parallels the Pharisee’s religion of their day. Not really much different. They took a group of laws and added tons more things, requirements – that God never intended…then looked down on people who did not do it their way…Iverna Tompkins said it this way “many will find that they continued praying for revival all the way through it”.. she was talking about God not doing things the way we expect – and so we miss it… all the more reason to stay up close to Him! Don’t wanna miss what He’s doing!

      thanks for sharing,
      jeanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

