Wow That Was Easy!

So we got all moved and Chris has done so very well with the transition. Actually I think he has improved even more since we’ve been here this week. While I’ve been excited to get the car and be a little more mobile I have also dreaded getting him out. It can be such a hassle to do all the things that go with just a simple outing. I decided that we would go out once a week period. No matter what the hassle is he needs to get out – and it does me good as well…even though it’s a lot of work.

So far I’ve taken him to my sister’s house and then last week I counted moving him over to the new apartment. This week was slipping by and so this afternoon I decided to take him out to his sister’s house. He basically grew up out there and it should be very familiar to him. Well, he is doing so good with transfers I wasn’t too worried about getting him in the car – just out as it sits a little low. But when we got there and even when we got home too he just stood right up and got over into the chair both times! His improvement in mobility has been simply amazing this week! It was so easy I wasn’t sure why I was dreading it so!

The one good thing right now is that he is really awake most of the time still. This just amazes me too. I am working on his voice each evening and he’s gaining more control there too. On one hand I feel like I need to do so much more with him… but I’m not sure what and how much. Someone told me today that they heard I should push him to the point of frustration because it will help him. Well, you know what – I’ve watched people do that to him in almost every place we’ve been over the last two years — and I don’t get the point! Yes, I agree I should push him as hard and as much as I can. And push him to the end of his tolerance. But brain injury patients have enough anger and aggression to deal with – I think I will try this more patient approach. Hey – it seems to be working! He is responding and I wouldn’t want to do something to make him mad enough to stop. He’s seriously trying for me… I’m not willing to break that cycle for the sake of any textbook methods. Sometimes an education can hinder you from your goals.

I am just thankful for all the progress I’m seeing in Chris. I miss him so badly and I miss who he was so much I can hardly stand it. I don’t know what kind of Chris will emerge – or even if he will – but I am thankful that he continues to progress. He is getting more and more aware all the time…I just hope I can “help him right.” Here’s a picture from today at his sister’s house.

Chris and Eli had all their attention on Ronella!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Clyta on April 7, 2011 - 10:53 pm

    Just believe it, Jeanie! Stop being amazed; after all, that’s what we’ve been believing for!!!

    I’m so excited for you and for Chris. I’m even excited about the picture you posted. He’s looking better with each new picture I see. God is answering prayers, Jeanie. I’m convinced of that. You and I both know that this kind of traumatic injury takes a LONG time to heal, if it ever does; but he’s making such great progress that I believe it won’t be long until he is able to do some things for himself.

    THERE ARE NO SMALL MIRACLES!!!

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on April 7, 2011 - 10:57 pm

    You are absolutely right, Clyta! I just keep looking at him and how good he’s doing after all this time.. you know it’s not “supposed” to get better like this according to the textbooks! lol! But he is making remarkeable progress especially with mobility issues. I think if the rehab place calls i will turn them down as I think it would frustrate him more than help. I would rather take him in a couple of times a week rather than take him for the three week stay. I don’t want to disrupt the progress he’s making. It’s really amazing that he had literally no trouble adjusting to a new place! That’s nearly unheard of with TBI too…. all I can do is watch!

    love ya,
    jeanie

    Like

  3. #3 by Connie on April 7, 2011 - 11:06 pm

    Something is definitely happening. It’s a new season 🙂

    Like

  4. #5 by Priscilla Allison on April 17, 2011 - 3:17 pm

    So it isn’t just me that has noticed his angry look. It’s in the textbooks. I think you should trust your “instincts.” You don’t want to have a “textbook case,” but rather a miracle.

    I think that I would be quite angry if I couldn’t do basic things like talk, walk, read, play my music, etc. How frustrating. That’s probably why babies cry. Sometimes I get a little angry when my computer doesn’t do what I’m needing it to do! So he needs his faith increased and hope to come that this is a temporary situation.

    Being at home with you and getting to see Ronella and Eli is probably a real faith-builder for him, and so much nicer than living in a textbook. lol

    Like

    • #6 by Jeanie Olinger on April 17, 2011 - 3:57 pm

      I haven’t seen him real angry very much but he gets pretty frustrated (usually at me!) at times. It is “typical” of a brain injury to deal with a lot of anger and emotions. There is actually a in house hospital type rehab near Tulsa that specializes in anger issues after a TBI. I believe Chris won’t need that…but that’s just me! lol! Over all he seems very calm (probably too calm) I know the textbooks tell us to make him made and to push all his buttons but I don’t see the point of making him mad…home should be a safe place – even for the brian injured. If rehab wants to take that method well okay – but I am choosing the gentle approach and I must say it seems to be working…I think it is real good for him to see Ronella and Shawn and other familiar friends and family. And you are right – it’s all “nicer than living in a textbook!” lol!! Thanks for reading and thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

