Happy Birthday Bubba!

Today is Chris’ birthday. He is 27 today…but I don’t think he cares! It is also my daddy’s birthday – his 70th! Chris is doing so well we loaded him up and took him down to daddy’s celebration last night. He was alert and I was so encouraged at how well he’s doing…we were out late but he did so well. I had lots of help too! Ronella and Shawn brought their vehicles so we had room for all of us and the chair. they helped load and unload and care for him… I couldn’t have done it without them – they have been such troopers for us! It took several guys to get Chris in the house but they got it done!

So for Daddy’s birthday we were all taking pictures of daddy. It worked great because he had to share stories about every single one! It was fun! But as I was digging through the pictures it was emotional for me as I had so many of Chris. He was usually playing a musical instrument or acting silly. But I spent quite a bit of teary eyed looking trying to find pics of Daddy. It made me miss Chris – the Chris I knew – so much more! I have to bury that Chris though and wait to see how this one develops.

Of course then last night I had dreams of Chris walking and talking! I don’t think that helps – because I wake up and see him as he is. In my dream he was sitting in a recliner and just all of a sudden he got up and walked perfectly across the room and then fell down. But he kept trying and kept getting up and walking a little ways and falling until he finally had it right! Oh how I long for him to walk and talk and really be here with us once again!

But for today I will love the Chris I have. I am really encouraged because he is waking up. I’m not sure what to do with him to encourage this, and how much is enough without being too much; but he seems to be more awake than he has been over the last 2+ years…

I’m putting a picture of Chris and my DAddy here. It’s their birthdays! Happy Birthday to them both!

Daddy (70) Chris (27)

  1. #1 by Pam DeCrane on March 13, 2011 - 11:55 am

    Happy Birthday my buddy… You are never far from my thoughts and prayers. As we welcomed Hunter Paul into the world yesterday we thought of you and talked about u guys through the day. We all wished a little he could have waited one more day. 🙂 Love you so much….

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on March 13, 2011 - 12:22 pm

    I thought about that when I was telling Chris about Hunter’s birth! I told him he should have waited than he could have shared the b-day too!! Looking forward to the day Chris can meet Hunter Paul and CHristine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

