Ronella’s Birthday

Today is a very special day. It is my daughter’s (first) 29th birthday. Most of you may not have heard a lot about her as she has kind of stepped back into the shadows during this whole ordeal. But she is a trooper for sure!

She is the one who called me the day of Chris’ wreck. She was crying so hard she had to repeat two or three times what she was saying until I could understand her. She didn’t leave the ICU waiting room for 2 weeks – and then I had to kick her out! She was so torn because she wanted to stay with her brother but knew she had responsibilities at home with her husband.

She has definitely felt the crunch and the fire of the furnace as well. But you won’t hear her complain about it. She has helped me so much. When Chris first got in a room and still had a trach I was there alone for a short time. She was coming on the weekend but I told her that I couldn’t do it alone and she and her dad worked out a way to share the responsibility. They alternated weeks so that someone was with me. Otherwise there just was no sleep as Chris needed suctioning all the time!

She and I got to go to Chicago together for me to kind of tie things up until I go could get all my stuff. It was such a refreshing trip! It’s hard to imagine it’s been 2 years already!

She comes every Monday so that I can keep up with my small amount of tutoring. She stays here with Chris and has her toddler to deal with! IT’s a hand full but she does it every week. Then she and her husband, Shawn, come on Friday nights too; just to hang out!

Sometimes in the shuffle so many who hurt can be overlooked. She has pretty much lost her brother – and they were close too. It’s difficult at best.( When we were still in the hospital at Shreveport he responded to her better than anyone else. ) She also has lost her mother in a sense, because I am so tied up with Chris. We have set aside another mother/daughter day. We did it last year and had a blast so we are doing it again one Saturday coming up.

I hope you get a chance to meet Ronella. She is a wonderful sister, daughter, wife and mother. And above all that she is a beautiful example of what a Christain woman should look like! She is a great mother too! I am so proud of her and I am so sorry that she gets overlooked in the furnace!!

Happy Birthday Ronella – I love you!

  1. #1 by Jeannie on February 23, 2011 - 12:59 pm

    Best to you also dear friend. I think you also are a great mother!!! Ronella won’t forget that you love her just as ever. Blessings dear sister in Christ.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on February 23, 2011 - 4:42 pm

      Thank you my friend for your kind words! ROnella and I have a wodnerful mother/daughter outing here in another week! I am really looking forward to it! We are going to take Chris out to the mall Friday too! She’s a trooper!

      Like

  2. #3 by judy on February 26, 2011 - 7:59 pm

    I know Ronella and she is all that but look at who her mother is 🙂

    Like

    • #4 by Jeanie Olinger on February 26, 2011 - 8:24 pm

      Well I don’t know about all that — but she is certainly a great kid to have! We are the product of “our raisin'” lol, but we also make our own choices and she does that well!

      love ya,
      jeanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

