Back to the Daily Grind…

I certainly had an interesting weekend! I got to get out a little and went over to Fort Smith, AR and spent some time with God’s wonderful people! I met new people and enjoyed time with friends. It was very refreshing to be “normal” for a few hours, laughing and talking. I was on the radio too sharing some of Chris’ story with those faithful who continue to pray for us. I am amazed at how far-reaching prayer has been…

So when I got back I was very refreshed. It was just great to get to hang out for a while. And Chris did good while I was gone too. He slept well and responded well to my sister and those who stayed with him. There were lots of players helping make it a great little get away! I wish I had a bunch of money to give them for sitting with him!

Then yesterday my long time best friend Ginger calls out of the blue. She came by (and even brought me some of her home-made spaghetti!) That was a real treat. We’ve been friends since we were 8 – that’s more than 40 years! She was pretty impressed with how far along Chris has come since she last saw him. She was surprised at the independence he had (helping with the transfer and taking his own shoes off). It helps me see how far he’s come to look back at where he was last year too.

And today is back to the daily grind! I have decided to push Chris a little harder and see what kind of results I get. I notice when he sits and stands he seems to wake up. But then he takes a nap because it wears him out. He sat by himself yesterday on the side of the bed for about 2 minutes. I will continue to do that and try to get him to increase his time…There’s just still so much hesitation because I am so afraid I will do something wrong. But I have to take the chance because it might be right!

Taking care of him and trying to make decisions can be overwhelming…I struggle trying to balance it all with the things I feel the Lord is wanting me to do for now. But I found some encouragement this morning in Paul’s writings. Those who have been following along know I am reading the Bible through alphabetically this year. (I don’t know why- it’s just different!) But today I read 1 Timothy.

I thought about Paul’s life and the struggles he faced. Although they can’t really be compared with my own because they are in no way similar, he just kept going. Most of his letters were written from confinement. He had no idea that these letters to encourage the church would later be “canonized” and preserved as part of the Bible we use every day. He was just trying to protect the baby church from craziness! He wanted to strengthen them and encourage them in The Way. Yet we still draw strength from his words today.

He did not know how much I would need I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  He had no clue how many times I would quote and rest in the words he penned so long ago:  But my God will supply all of your needs according to His riches in glory.

Those are the two things that I am meditating on today as we get back to the daily grind…the nitty gritty of restoration! …because I still believe…

  1. #1 by Tory on February 21, 2011 - 10:30 pm

    So happy you had a wonderful time away….you need that for YOU!!! What a nice surprise to see your dear friend, Ginger! :o) Nothing like new friends and the old friends to bring such “richness” to our lives. I love the scriptures you are meditating on~~~such powerful words. Chris’ s baby steps are like “leaps and bounds”, aren’t they??? It is nice to find the encouragment of friends who have not been with him on a daily basis and see the progress he has made…..it is hard for you to see when you are with him day after day. I love reading and appreciate you sharing your lives with us. Give Chris a big “hug” from all of us out here who don’t see him or know him…except thru his dear Mother….whisper in his ear what a inspiration he is to so many! Continued prayers for you both! God Bless! Love~Tory

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on February 21, 2011 - 11:06 pm

    It is true there is nothing like friends… and I have found so many wonderful new ones on this journey…but nothing quite like one who has walked with you for over 40 years and never turned back!

    I will pass on the message to Chris! He has no idea how much he has inspired others…or how much he had inspired them before all this happened! I hope you will get to meet the Chris I remember one day…

    thanks for reading my friend
    Jeanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

