Another day down…

Today has been a rough day for me. Not really sure why that is. It really may be the weather and not getting out to run. I will blame it on that anyway! Chris has done some pretty good things today though. As long as he keeps progressing I won’t complain! He has no tone and that makes it difficult to move him around. So we spent awhile this afternoon working on sitting and standing.

Some times it just seems like everything is a struggle and there’s no light of day. I know there is light – but I’m just saying how it feels some time.

I am hoping that by sharing my own struggle and fight of faith others will be encouraged. When I am transparent sometimes I feel like others are worried about me being depressed and all. Well, I am all right! Yes,I will be the first to admit that I do struggle with depression – and the Word pulls me out of it as I yield myself to Him! Sharing the struggle isn’t about that part at all – it’s I want to say that yes – we may struggle. Yes – trials and tribulations may come at us from every side… but He will see us through! There’s still faith in the storm. And actually if there wasn’t ever a storm we would not know how strong He is – or how big He is in us!

I have purposefully had to spend time in the word. And not just studying for a lesson or even my private prayer and reading I have done every morning for 30 years! I have had to go to the Word and look – really look at it, look at Him…

I have found myself in Psalm 119. I can so relate to some of David’s prayers in this psalm. Several times he asks the Lord to revive me according to Your word. And then in verse 50 he says this is my comfort in my affliction, that Your word has revived me. That’s so cool to me and so very true as well! His word is alive! And it (He) is alive in me!

In verse 107 David says I am exceedingly afflicted; revive me according to Your word. It’s not that I rejoice that someone else faced tribulation but it does help to know that David (the man after God’s own heart) went through stuff too!

So today as I set my heart to spend more time absorbing and meditating on His word, I find relief to know that I have one more day down. We are 24 hours closer to the things He has promised!

  1. #1 by Connie on February 17, 2011 - 11:19 pm

    All I can say is “I’m reading this and praying for you, and we love you and Chris.” I wish I could say that I read the book of Job and came up with something better than his friends offered, that I have just the answer that will make it all better & explain it for God. NOT !! But I am convinced of this one thing: God has gathered certain people to watch this situation – friends, family, neighbors and is even looking for a church. He has chosen people who are seeking Him and will credit Him with what we will see. Some would do more if they knew what or how, for some prayer is all that is feasible, and some just don’t realize how much is needed. But watching you “stand” is changing hearts of stone to hearts of flesh even though you’re nearly drowning in crashing waves as you wait for your rescuers to be trained. Praise God that His hand is there just like it was for Peter that stormy night on the sea. I am confident that even though you feel like you’ve done all, you will continue to stand until the answer comes. And I believe He will continue to give you signs of progress just when you need encouragement – signs that He is progressively putting everything in Chris back in order and will raise him up in due time. There’s so much more on my heart – may I just say “I never cease to pray for you, I believe Jesus and I love you!”

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on February 18, 2011 - 7:31 am

    First let me say that that storm has already passed and another is on the horizon! lol…

    You have been much more than anything Job ever had! I appreciate all that you and your family has done, the main thing being prayer and just being there. It means a lot to look around and realize that there are people standing with you…it offers a certain amount of strength that says, ” I can continue…”

    Thanks so much for the encouragement.. and I do see that He allows Chris to come out a little at a time just about the time I’m ready to pack it all up!
    Thank you so much for praying, caring and standing with us. I have found the old saying to be true – you find out who your real friends are when you go through. Many I have known for years have pretty much just walked away – I am so glad I met you in this process and believe it was a Divine connection! And I consider you a true friend…(and I do not use that term loosely)

    love ya,
    jeanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

