Can’t Get Over the But Not’s!

The last few days have been interesting indeed. Chris seems to be really waking up! It’s exciting and scarey all at the same time. He is so awake usually after noon until late at night. He is frustrated too and is uncooperative. But these are all signs that he is really waking up. I am trying not to get too excited yet for one thing I have learned about brain injuries is it can go back and forth. I’m trying to brace my emotions in case he goes back to sleep on me later!

My last post was Friday and it was about having a case of the “but not’s.” I have not been able to move from that scripture. It has resounded powerfully in me over the last couple of days. Yes we are in situations… but not in distress, destroyed or in despair. It is so still in me that I did a little search of the phrase “but not.” It’s used a lot in scriptures as they are common words! But a few stood out to me.

Isaiah 54:14 says that the enemy may come against us – he may throw many things at us (my loose translation) however, God says but not  from me. He isn’t the one forming weapons against us! And He will vidicate us! Yeah!

Romans 5:15 (KJV) says But not as the offense so is the free gift. That may not sound just right at first, however, God is saying that the offense, the sin, is not like the gift. Christ is stronger than sin! His blood wipes it all away. By one man we were carried in under sin and by one man it is all erased. They are not comparable- the gift is greater! Duane Sherriff said it’s like trying to compare a firecracker (the offense) to a stick of dynamite (the gift). Yeah – they share some characteristics, but the power is not even in the same class!

Mark 10:27 says it is impossible with man; but not with God! Boy O boy! It does not matter what it looks like to us – and in situations like I am in – it is not impossible with Him!!!

Isaiah 48:10 behold I have refined you, but not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction.  Wow – did that one ever ring home true for me! I know everything in my has been tested in this furnace; my paitience, self control, endurance, confidence in Him, faithfulness and even my faith. I can’t say that I have passed – just I know I’ve been tested! But you know the next verse says that He will act… it is impossible without Him- and I continue to trust HIm even in the furnace! I just can’t get over the “but not’s”!

  1. #1 by Jeannie on January 23, 2011 - 12:57 pm

    Jesus asked the disciples, “will you leave me too?” and they replied, “to whom shall we go?” Right answer, even today. Blessings

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on January 23, 2011 - 3:51 pm

      Right answer indeed! Old song of mine says, “Where else would I go when my heart is broken in two; who else could I call on who would know what to do….” I still run to Him!

      Thanks for reading.
      jeanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

