In His Arms

It has certainly been a couple of interesting days around here. Chris is really doing good and that helps my overall morale. Today he is getting his own wheel chair. They measured him while he was at Valir and ordered it. It will be fitted specifically to him and it’s his chair. It’s not a rental or a loaner. It’s kind of bitter sweet though…

I am very glad to get it as it will allow us to be more mobile. It should be somewhat smaller than all the bulk we are used to also. So there are lots of advantages. That’s the “good” of it. The rough part for me is the fact that we still need it! I don’t want my son to need a wheel chair of his own. He is almost 27 he should be surfing and swimming and marching and enjoying this time in his life…instead he gets a wheel chair for excitement.

Don’t get me wrong I am very thankful for it. I could not have purchased it right out either. Actually I am very thankful for all the things medicaid has helped with. Even though I get so frustrated with the system it is very helpful in many ways.

When I am struggling with all the decisions about needing to move so he can get the physical therapy he needs, be able to do laundry in house and things like that I really have a difficult time. I am not angry at the young man who caused the accident. It was just that – an accident. What upsets me is that he had no insurance; and it’s that lack of resonsibility that I get upset about. It would have changed this whole story. I have a more difficult time dealing with that aspect than I do with the wreck itself.

But then I have to go back to the fact that man does not take care of us. We do not lean on the arm of flesh. God is our provider…period. Yes He uses the system, He gives “witty inventions” to know how to make money, but ultimately our trust and faith is in HIm. He is our source of life, peace, security and sustenance. This takes me right back to Psalm 121 which states that He is where my help comes from. Not from insurance companies, people, or government agencies – the Lord is my help!

He is my strength! I have no doubt that walking through the furnace without His presence would end in death. But He has carried me. Now if I can remind myself to nestle down in His arms for the trip – it’ll all be okay. I think the trouble comes because I start trying to fix things and crawl out of His arms to go see what I can do! (don’t act like you don’t identify!)

But I am determined to stay tucked safely in His arms until the calamity is past. That’s from Psalm 57:1…a scripture that I held on to back in 1986-7 when I was sick with the mystery illness. My friends and family all thought I was dying. I did too, actually! But I refused to die at the hand of the enemy and God raised me up with a miraculous hand! So I figure that scripture is still ringing true today and that’s what I intend to do –

Be merciful unto me O God,

Be merciful unto me.

For my soul trusts in thee

In the shadow of thy wings will I take my refuge

until these calamities are past…

Psalm 57:1

  1. #1 by Jeannie on January 19, 2011 - 2:44 pm

    Wonderful scripture to hold close and write it upon the tables of our hearts!!! That’s the beauty of the scripture; it really works!!! It works even when we don’t think, believe, trust that it works; it still works. Because God is not a man that He should lie; His Word is true, and He moves quickly for the heart of faith. Love you sis.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on January 19, 2011 - 8:18 pm

      Amen! and Amen!! I could not agree with you more!! Thanks for reading.. love ya,
      jeanie

      Like

  2. #3 by Carol on January 19, 2011 - 6:26 pm

    Thank you sooooo much Jeanie! You have hit a homerun on this one with me! I am guilty of crawling out of his arms…..actually more like sliding out some how without me even realizing I did it. I thought I was still in His arms! Until I start noticing I was edgy about trivial things. Thanks for the scripture to cling to. I am heading there now!

    Like

    • #4 by Jeanie Olinger on January 19, 2011 - 8:20 pm

      You are very welcome!! I am glad I could say something that would help you find HIs arms once again… they are so strong!! I don’t know how I ever slip away!

      thanks for reading,

      love ya,
      jeanie

      Like

  3. #5 by Tory on January 19, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    Hello to Jeanie and Chris~ I could certainly feel both the joy and regret in your heart in reading this post, Jeanie. And yes, I can identify with you whole heartedly about how we tend to try to go it on our own and FIX things and forget to include the one above, that is in total control, if we allow him to be~~~I forget this one to many times~~~~to include God in my EVERYTHING!
    I would love to hear about your illness your went thru and that experience sometime if you feel like telling it. If not on here…sometime msg me on DS. Again~I find inspiration in Chris’s and your journey together. It truely is a LOVE story of Mother and Son. Thank you for sharing and I will continue to pray for you and Chris. Remember, if you need a friend to visit with…you know how to find me. Many ((hugs)) to you and your beautiful son and may God bless you and keep you nestled under his arms….even when you may not be feeling it! :o) Love~Tory

    Like

    • #6 by Jeanie Olinger on January 19, 2011 - 8:22 pm

      Tory,
      Thanks so much for taking this journey with us! Thank you also for your kind words as well as your prayers. They truly mean a lot! I don’t mind sharing about when I was sick.. thinking about a small book about it maybe…I’ll look you up on Ds and share one day!

      Thanks so much for reading and sharing…and walking with us!

      love ya,
      jeanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

