Home Sweet Apartment…

I guess I have finally found that I am “home” in one way. It’s really been crazy for me for quite a long time. I lived with people for about three years before Chris’ accident. The first couple I lived with was a move so I would be free to go about and work the ministry. Then when I made the move to Chicago I was staying with people and working to pay for the trip to Africa that was planned.

Well, here it is Christmas Eve and I have people coming over for a big Christmas dinner. It’s been literally years since I got to do that! And I am really excited about throwing a turkey in the oven here in a bit!

I’ve started doing a lot of experimenting with cooking, trying out lots of new recipes and ideas. I started out with healthy alternatives to muffins and cookies and branched out from there. A couple of days ago it was like it hit me that I am “home” and I have my own place again. It’s been a long journey!

I stayed at the hospital for 3.5 months while Chris was there. Then we moved to a nursing home and I literally stayed in the room with him for six months. From there we went to a rehab facility for only a little over a week in New Orleans. And then we moved him to Oklahoma – that was a long day trip! I’ll tell you about it some time!! Poor Chris!

When we first got here  I stayed at my daughter’s house for about a month but she was about ready to have a baby and they really didn’t have the extra room. We made it, but it wasn’t the best! Then I stayed with some very cool friends of theirs. They opened their house to me and I even had my own room for the first time in a long time! I was there about 6 months. Then in May I got my apartment.

It took from May to September to gather what little stuff I had here in the apartment. I had to go to Chicago to get a load and back to Louisiana for the rest. I had a couple of pieces of furniture mama and daddy had stored for me when I moved to Chicago. They are part of the family. My great-grandfather’s trunk and a dresser that’s been around forever! And that’s all I had.

My friends in Arkansas had given me a small chest of drawers, a little kitchen table and a toaster oven. They even packed up a box of dishes for me too! And that was about it! But people began to give…and give…and give!! Until my little one bedroom apartment is full to the brim! Yesterday one of my neighbors came by and said, “You’ve got a nice home here.” I thought of how I had almost nothing when I started over here! And now I literally cannot get one more piece in here and am seriously thinking of moving to a larger apartment!

It’s been an interesting emotional journey even over the last couple of weeks as I am rediscovering my space. I am just so thankful to be able to hostess again! God has begun such a restoration for me even in the midst of the trial. I have seen myself grow in Him, and ministry be more than I could imagine. I literally talk to people from all over the world many days. I had a pastor from India call yesterday to wish us a “Merry Christmas!”

So I settle into my new “home” I am making and yet realize that probably since I am getting comfortable it’s about time to move again! lol! That seems to be the way it works…

I am just thankful to have a Christmas dinner here tonight. Chris is more awake – has improved this year, even though it’s been slow… and it’s all good from here…

 

Thanks for listening in and riding with me on the journey!

Merry Christmas — My you have a Christ-filled holiday!

  1. #1 by Jeannie on December 27, 2010 - 8:12 pm

    God is GOOOOOOOD!!!! ALL THE TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on December 28, 2010 - 12:26 am

    Yes indeed!!!

    Like

  3. #3 by moje on December 28, 2010 - 9:04 am

    …AND ALL THE TIME, GOD IS GOOD! Before moving to a larger apartment, consider whether you NEED all of the material belongings you have accumulated and whether someone else could benefit from any of your things.

    Like

    • #4 by Jeanie Olinger on December 28, 2010 - 2:04 pm

      Absolutely! I have already given quite a bit away. My friends from Arkansas pastor a church and had three couples who were in need I went through and got rid of many things. I had lots of towels and kitchen supplies that I was able to share with them! That was exciting! I mostly need a larger apartment so that I can go get my son’s stuff from where it is stored in Louisiana. I also need a washer and dryer hook up. That is the main reason I want to move to a larger place. I don’t have need of anything else! And I do hope I can share even what I have with someone in need.

      Like

Leave a Reply

