Now That’s God!

This is such a crazy place I am in. On one hand I am very excited about each small improvement. And of course on the other hand I am so tired and discouraged from the longevity of this journey. I guess I am getting a little unnerved about how “whole” he will be when this is done.

So the last couple of days I have decided to look at previous victories to encourage myself. I’m guessing that this tactic is used by warriors gone before! Right before a fight they always give the accolades of the fighters, perhaps it is to boost their own confidence. If I can go into a fight knowing others have won and my own track record I can find some sort of logical comfort and confidence to face the opponent. Now I also know that I do not have the strength on my own to win, I must cling to Him with all my strength and let Him do the fighting!

But for now I encourage myself with previous battles. Some are immediately in my mind. I had my own battle with illness in 1986-87. It was about a year long ordeal and the doctors could not find out what was wrong. We really thought I was dying. I couldn’t eat and was wasting away before everyone’s eyes. But during that time is when I really learned how to cling to Him. He promised that He would renew my youth like the eagle’s and He did! It was slow but I recovered! Now that’s God!

I also recall the wreck with the bus that almost claimed my life. My injuries were serious but not as bad as Chris’ are. Again, I learned to cling to Him and to trust HIm.

Other’s triumphs can bring encouragement too. My mother had a total nervous breakdown when I was born. She was told she would spend the rest of her days in an institution. But you know what, God totally healed her! She is not in an institution and she’s not on any meds! Now that’s God!!

My uncle had an acute case of Leukemia. He was on all kinds of machines including life support and the doctors gave up. My aunt told them to wait for the weekend. This was after a very long battle with the malady. He was all but gone but God raised him up! He has no leukemia and tells the story of his healing literally around the world! Now that’s God!

When Chris was in the nursing home my uncle brought a visitor from South Africa by to see Chris and pray for him. He looked up during the prayer and said, “you don’t have to go far to find a miracle.” He made a gesture towards my uncle.

Well, I feel better! I think it is important sometimes to remind ourselves of the things God has already done in our lives. I will trust Him for one more day! I will trust Him to fulfill what He has said pertaining to Chris, no matter what I see with my eyes! His Word is true – Now that’s God!

  1. #1 by Jeannie on December 16, 2010 - 10:49 pm

    I know a man in the Bible that always, always “encouraged himself.” His name was David; and he was a King, the first King chosen by God.

    It is in circumstances that are out of our control in which we “learn Christ.” Our faith becomes more than “faith toward God,” but is ultimately turned into “the faith of the Son of God.” That is the “faith” that cannot be shaken by circumstances, upheavals. Another term for it is, “knowing in Whom we believe”.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on December 16, 2010 - 11:33 pm

      Amen and amen! I have learned a lot about faith during this trial of two plus years. I’ve learned a lot of what it is, and what it is not! It is truly His heart that has sustained me and nothing of myself. I do not even have the strength to keep myself going. Only in His presence do I find true peace and strength. But we have to look past our circumstances to see Him clearly. Then we can learn “His faith!” Thanks so much for sharing and for reading!!

      Like

  2. #3 by Vickie Bragg on December 17, 2010 - 3:01 am

    Thank you once again for your total transparency..You are touching lives. I appreciate the awesome monuments you revisited in your faith journey..What strength…

    Like

  3. #4 by Jeanie Olinger on December 17, 2010 - 3:04 am

    Thanks for taking the time to read, Vickie. This is my hope for this blog to begin with – that someone somewhere will be encouraged to hold on for one more day! that we will all be able to walk in faith – even if it seems to elude us from time to time! It’s not far away – we just have to take time to find it once again!Thanks for reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

