Shifting Outward

It’s odd how we can have such a full range of emotions all at one time. I am very excited about the improvements I’ve seen and others are beginning to see as well. Not only the doctor’s statement last week but home health even upgraded Chris’ status this week. He’s no longer in the highest risk category.

Even with all the improvements there is so much to do. I can sometimes feel very overwhelmed and feel the urge to try to make it go faster. This of course doesn’t work! 🙂 You cannot speed up the healing of a brain injury! Boy I sure wish I knew how though!

It does seem somehow that he is going faster right now. He is still sleepy a lot of the time but that’s not uncharacteristic of an injury such as the one he has. Yet each day it seems he is moving more and more on his own. I want to do the best for him and really have no idea what to do. I wasted my money on the PT aide class. I learned a little bit not anything too much to help right now. That’s a frustrating thing!

Little things weigh so much more when you are already under a load. Last night I was trying to get Chris from the wheel chair to the bed for the night. I always try to keep a phone handy just in case we do get in any sort of a bind. I’ve only had to call out for help one time so far! But you never know! I had the home phone in my pocket and had just stood Chris up. While I am standing there holding him getting ready to turn him so he can sit on the edge of the bed the phone rang. Some man asks if he can speak to the male head of the household. I started to ask him to repeat it as it didn’t make sense to me! Then I said, “The what?” Then I said, “there isn’t a male head of household!” And hung up on him! I’m not sure why it bothered me so much!

I guess I get frustrated because we try to put life in a box like it’s the same for everyone. you know? Everyone owns a car and a house and lives with 2.5 kids and a spouse! NOT! Everyone has a job that they go to through the week and then get to play on the weekend. Everyone can go purchase fancy clothes and the foods of their choice and follow every little whim. NOT! It’s actually a good thing that we are not all alike for many reasons.

For one, this world would be a boring place if we all were exactly the same! And it would give us no opportunity to speak into each other’s lives. We wouldn’t even be able to minister to one another or take up the gap in someone else’s life. No matter how secluded we may feel we are never too far away from someone who needs an encouraging word or a friend. Our focus just has to shift outward rather than inward.

For today I will keep my focus on what I can do for others. Sometimes we can only pray…and we say that like it’s not that much of a big deal. But if we take a moment to think about it we are going before the Lord, the King, the Omnipotent One on behalf of another. It’s quite and honor and privilege really.

so take a moment and look around you today. Get your eyes off your own situation and pray for someone else today! It will actually do you a world of good!

  1. #1 by Jeannie on December 9, 2010 - 3:52 am

    You said something quite profound!!! I don’t really think we comprehend what one thought in prayer for another can accomplish. Actually, that is all it takes. We take it before the King of Kings, Lord of Lords, with just a thought on behalf of another. And I KNOW THAT HE HEARS US WHEN WE PRAY.

    Like

  2. #2 by Jeanie Olinger on December 9, 2010 - 8:26 pm

    Yes ma’am! You are absolutely correct! I have learned over the last two years how others praying for you can affect you. I will never take it lightly again when someone says they have been praying for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

