Humbly Thankful

What a wonderful Thanksgiving Day! I have so very much to be thankful for, as we all do. Two years ago I spent Thanksgiving Day in the ICU waiting room. It was my home for aver 3 weeks, I basically set up camp! It was a community and I saw so many parallels to what the church should look like during those days.

It was outside the hospital trauma unit. Two different ICU centers were on either side of the waiting rooms. All of us sitting with family members had become like family in a very short time as we were there to comfort one another in our trying time! Circumstance had forced us together and we were making the best of it!

That Thanksgiving will always be a memorable one for me. It was only me and Chris’ dad as far as any relations were there. It was a holiday – so no visitors. But I had a friend in another state who was concerned about me not getting a Thanksgiving Day meal! She actually found the number to a church nearby and called them. She told them of the situation and asked them to provide us a special meal! They did! (of course we never saw them after that!)

Another family who had a son in the same ICU unit as Chris was local. They had a huge family day planned and were in and out during the day.  They brought a huge box of food for everyone to share. It was loaded with good Thanksgiving Day goodies!

Then another lady whose husband had been there for some time, he had been moved to a floor but she frequented the ICU waiting areas since she was still using one of the lockers to store her things. That evening she brought in even more plates of food. Someone had provided for her and she wanted to make sure everyone had a “piece of the pie!”

The churches in the area came through as well at noon. They brought boxes of meals! They were handing them out to everyone! It was an awesome time to show people His love…giving for no reason and not looking for something in return!

It goes down as one of the most remarkable Thanksgivings I have ever had! I think I consumed the most food of all Thanksgivings put together too! lol!

Yet at the same time it was certainly one of the most trying as Chris was still in ICU and was in isolation because not only did he have pneumonia, he had the dreaded MRSA.

So today I am thankful for many things. I’m thankful for his life, the one he lived and the one he has before him. Thankfulness abounds that I am in my own place for this holiday season. It’s been a long time since I had my own space!

Though the last two years has been full of trouble, I am very thankful for the place I’ve found in Him. Perhaps it’s been the trouble that has pressed me into Him this far…maybe simply the intense desire I’ve always had to know Him…I have learned many things about Who He is during this time. He’s corrected much error in my religious thinking and I’ve found a new freedom in Him…

Two things I’ve always heard – during a tough season you find out who your friends really are (and I have indeed)…and you find out who He really is when you’re going through…So today as weird as it may sound I am thankful for this trial…

I love the way Oswald Chambers put it in “My Utmost For His Highest” – June 25th entry:

 

The way to find yourself is in the fires of sorrow.

You always know the man who has been through the firs of sorrow and received himself, you are certain you can go to him in trouble and find that he has ample leisure for you. If a man has not been through the fires of sorrow he is apt to be contemptuous, he has no time for you. If you receive yourself in the fires of sorrow, God will make you nourishment for other people.

May this always be true for me…I am thankful He chose me to go through the furnace with HIm. It has changed me from the inside out. When my uncle Calvin had cancer I saw his relationship with the Lord go so much deeper. In a sermon one Sunday (one of his last) he stated that he was not happy he had cancer but he was happy with the results he saw in himself. He said he wouldn’t trade for what he had found…”my relationship with Him before was a hamburger and some fries, but now it’s fillet Mignon!” Thanks Uncle Calvin – I’m with you on that one!!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

