Nothing Like a Hug from a Friend

Yesterday was a great day! My friends from Arkansas came by and stayed a big portion of the day. I guess I didn’t realize how long it’s been since I got a plain ole hug from a friend. There’s just nothing like it! It was a very refreshing day here in the furnace! It’s was nice to have a break from my norm and sit and visit and grab a pizza with friends.

I think when I get through all this I will make it a point to hug more people, specifically friends! I’m not going go running around Wal-Mart hugging folks I don’t know! I found though a solid truth in the Proverbs that speak of friend’s effect on the countenance. And I must say it also has a positive effect on the heart as well!

One cool thing that happened too was my friend Acra just went to the keyboard and begin to let praise flow out. This was so refreshing as I don’t get to have those times of corporate praise. It was so nice to be able to just sing along with others in praise.

At one point Acra began to just pour out from his heart prayers for Chris. It was a moment I want to treasure for years to come. I don’t know if Chris will remember it or not, but I certainly will.

Now today I will continue my somewhat regular schedule; but my heart will have a little more warmth!

  1. #1 by Kimberly on November 18, 2010 - 2:47 pm

    I’ve tried to comment on your blog so many times, but I can never seem to find the words. In a way, I hate your blog, I hate being reminded of suffering and especially suffering that I can’t relieve.
    I feel like I’m watching the three Hebrews in the furnace. And then that’s also why I love your blog, cause it reminds me of the Fourth Man. You are not alone. We are not alone. When we gave our lives to Him, He promised us it would be hard, trials would come, but that it’s ok. He’s already overcome them.
    So Jeanie, thank you for for showing me what a Christian is.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on November 18, 2010 - 7:14 pm

      Well I am glad you did comment! Thanks for reading! And thanks for your input. It is so good to know that no matter what we go through (and we are going through…we really do not have to face it alone! He said He would be with us through the fire not just finding us a way out! He said He would be with us through the flood not that they wouldn’t come! I really don’t know what people do who do not know Him…how could they carry it alone. I know if He was not here helping me carry it all (and sometimes having to carry me too!) I would buckle beneath the load.

      But He is absolutely been faithful and when I have fallen, or doubted, or been down He has lifted me up! I am so happy to be learning about Him during this experience. It doesn’t always make it hurt any less to know that He is there and that others are there….But just about the time I cannot go on, He lifts me up!

      You know one thing the “church” does best is close its eyes to the hurting…One of my deepest hopes when all this is done is that I will emerged so changed that I can help others. I know like you said I can’t always relieve the suffering they are enduring, but I can work a soup kitchen and hold a spoon! I can work a shelter and hold someone while they cry, or I can play basketball with the kids and help them forget for just a moment….

      Thanks for reading!!

      Like

  2. #3 by Connie M on November 18, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Virtual bear hug…………aaarrrrrrrgggghhhhhhhhhhh !!!!!!!! Did it help????

    Like

    • #4 by Jeanie Olinger on November 18, 2010 - 7:09 pm

      It absolutely helped a lot!! Thanks and (((((Connie)))))) hugs back!

      Like

  3. #5 by Clyta on November 19, 2010 - 3:04 am

    Jeanie, Many studies show that comatose people hear what people say to them, so since Chris is not comatose, I would think he hears and will remember much of what you say to him. A few years back, the doctor who brought me into the world had a massive stroke and was hospitalized in Tulsa for several days before he died. I went to see him, held his beautiful, huge hand, and talked to him. I said, “Dr. Staff, This is the first hand that ever touched me. I love you, and Jesus loves you. Will you let me sing you a song?” Then I sang “Healing Hands.” The tears streamed out of his closed eyes. A week or so later I took Mom to see him. She talked to him for quite awhile, and once again–tears. He never did regain consciousness, but I’ll always believe he heard and understood. Another reason for speaking positive thoughts always, never negative ones to someone like this. (Not that I think you speak negative things to Chris. You are much smarter than that.)

    Like

    • #6 by Jeanie Olinger on November 19, 2010 - 1:27 pm

      Thanks so much for sharing that story! What a beautiful thing. I do talk to Chris all day, the first thing he may say is something about me being quiet for awhile! lol! I keep it positive no matter what I feel or think. Sometimes I tell him he’s doing a good job thinking about the task I asked him to complete. I feel it’s very important to keep away a lot of the negatives. I don’t watch the news while he’s in the room as I feel it can be very negative as well. I know he hears me even if he doesn’t respond. But the times when he just grins at me when I’m doing something silly let’s me know he’s still around, no matter how far away!

      Thanks so much for sharing!
      And thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

