Staying In Peace While You Feel in Pieces

Well it certainly helps me out a lot when Chris sleeps all night! I think I actually got to sleep five hours. That’s part of the struggle is not getting enough rest. It causes all sorts of tension in the body and emotions. Sleep is so important, although I always felt like it’s such a waste of time. I mean, why did God make our bodies need to rest almost a third of out time? that’s one third of our lives that are “wasted” in bed. That just seems like an awful lot to me! But for today, I am thankful that I got a little lump of sleep all together!

Sometimes I have such a difficult time balancing everything out. I need to work online to generate some cash flow; but I also have so much I feel I need to do as far as ministry is concerned. I am working on so many projects, and the funny thing is that even though I can’t get to all I have to do already I still have more ideas of things that could be done! I guess my mind hasn’t found the “off” switch yet!

Balancing that all out can be a great struggle for me. I really desire to write the study guides and articles, but need to write on line for my “job” so to speak. I’m finding that as I put the things first that He has given me to do, the other pretty well falls into place. But there are times when those little articles people read come through great difficulty.

Usually, when Chris has had a rough day it is hard for me to sit and write about faith! lol! I wonder why? It takes a large amount of energy sometimes to shift my brain back over. It’s a constant struggle sometimes to stay focused on Him and the Word in the midst of the trial.

But somehow in the middle of all the mess there is a closeness with Him that I am sensing. I can’t really explain it, but it’s like I know sometimes He is right here. Oh the next minute I may be fussing because I got all tangled up  in Chris’ chair, or couldn’t get him to eat or whatever! But then when I settle back down, He is still right here. Under all the turmoil there is still peace! The struggle is to try to stay in that peace.

That’s my motto for today – stay in His peace. That sounds so spiritual and so great doesn’t it? But it is actually a very difficult task to accomplish. But that is still my goal for today – stay in peace while I feel in pieces! I think we can do this!

  1. #1 by linda pullen on November 4, 2010 - 7:22 pm

    When I want to feel sorry for myself your sitaution always jerks me around. Its good you have a sounding board. Love you and I’ll be so glad when our trials are over!

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on November 8, 2010 - 1:20 pm

      You know I am praying for you don’t you? I have you and your situation on my heart and mind and pray frequently. I pray for your total healing! Love ya!

      Like

  2. #3 by Barbara Johnson "BJ" on November 15, 2010 - 3:44 am

    Hi Jeanie,
    I have just finished reading your article “Staying In Peace While You Feel In Pieces”.
    This speaks to many of us because we try so hard in our situations to stay in the peace we ask God for and sometime it seems so very hard. Sometime it seems like the very gates of heaven are closed. I think it is very important to verbalize our feelings to God, David did. At the end of our conversation we still know who is in charge. We haven’t changed our feelings about God, Sometime we just need to talk God is truly there all the time – Jehovah Shammah

    You are like the Bobble Doll, you can punch it, kick it, push it but it never falls down. It wobbles from side to side but it never falls down, it always stands up straight again.

    I think about you all the time. God Bless you and your family

    Love,
    “BJ”

    Like

    • #4 by Jeanie Olinger on November 15, 2010 - 1:37 pm

      Hey BJ!! I love you so much! Thanks for checking out the blog and for responding. You are so right that we can share our feelings with God. I once told a friend that I told God when I was angry with Him or a situation. She was somewhat shocked, but then I said, “It’s not like He didn’t know!” I think being honest with God is like any relationship. But I like what you said that even after I vent, or open up those emotions to Him, I still know He is in charge and my feelings toward Him have not changed! Plus, His feelings about us don’t change just because we are upset either!

      Thanks for commenting, thanks for reading!
      love you much!
      jeanie

      Like

Leave a comment