The End of His Promise

Well so far this morning I have had the extremes of about everything! I look at Chris and wonder when and even if he will be okay. My mind battles against me with thoughts about how long it’s been since the injury occurred and the likelihood of a full recovery. I also battle thoughts about if this is the way it will be for the rest of my life. Is this it?

And while I know down in my heart God’s promises, I still struggle with how to deal with this from day to day. I mean come on, it’s staring me in the face. My sore muscles won’t let me forget what a day has to offer! I have to choose to face the day head on and give it all I have one more time. After that, there’s the sleepless nights. I must put my hand to what is in front of me without considering emotions or what might or might not happen tomorrow.

The struggle here I think is that it has been so long. Time has a way of wearing us down. But I must take my mind back to scriptures and remember that we can read a passage very quickly without consideration of how long it took in real time.

Abraham waited 25 years for the fulfillment of his promise. Joseph waited many years. Daniel had a 70 year wait. I feel so weak when I compare my situation to theirs. They did not let go of His promises no matter how situations fought against their minds. You know they had to give some thought to the when of God’s promises. Abraham more than likely had to explain why he changed his name from father to the father of a great multitude when he had no children to show for it. He walked around childless for years proclaiming that he was the father of many.

Job held on through a very serious illness. He also lost all of his children, his crops, his sustenance and his pride. He had nothing but a wife who nagged him to curse God and die. But he still held on.

So today, my heart tells my brain to deal with the day and shut up! Today is a day in this journey of faith. Today must be dealt with and handled the best way it can be. But it’s not the end of His promise. And there ya go… I think I can go one more day clinging to Him in this furnace of life.

  1. #1 by C Harris on October 26, 2010 - 12:43 am

    1 Cor 10:13 There has no temptation (trial) taken you but such as is common to man, but God is faithful, and He will not suffer you to be tried above that you are able, but will with the temptation (trial) also make a way to escape that you may be able to bear it. I believe that’s a correct quotation, Gina. I memorized it many years ago (KJV, of course), and it’s been awhile since I’ve needed to share it. You and Chris were in my prayers early this morning. I hope that helped to make this day just a bit easier to bear.

    I know you’ve heard this, Gina, so it may just sound like so many empty words: “If God brings you to it, He’ll walk you through it.” I hope it comforts you to reealize that God is taking every step you take. God prepared you for this chapter of your life long before you were born, and He knew that you needed the strength to walk through it. I know that He DID NOT have anythin to do with Chris’s accident, but he had prepared a caregiver who would love him and care for him like no one else but a Mama would.

    Gina, I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you after this is over and you can continue to fulfill His call on your life (after a long rest, that is). I know He has something good for you. Keep the faith; keep the strength; and keep a smile on your beautiful face. God loves you as much as He loves Jesus!

    Clyta

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on October 26, 2010 - 2:30 am

      Clyta,
      Thanks so much for the scriptures and encouragement. I hold on to the truth that He knew long ago we could make it or He would not have allowed it! I also take much comfort in knowing that you took time to pray for us this morning. We have made it through this day! One more day down until Chris’ full recovery! Thanks so much for reading, and for sharing!

      Jeanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

