What About the River?

So this morning my Bible fell open to a favorite passage from Isaiah 43. You know the one that says when we go through the fire and the flood basically we won’t be overcome. I’m trying to grasp that this morning with what strength I have left! Lol!

Seriously, right now I am feeling very overwhelmed. I think it’s because on top of just the huge load of dealing with Chris from day to day during his recovery other things in life don’t stop. And government has no compassion. There are lots and lots of financial situations I am trying to swim through and not drown!

I know it’s hard to imagine but just because Chris had a wreck doesn’t mean the rent is on hold. Yeah, our lives are pretty much on hold. But the lights have to stay on, the rent has to be paid and we still like to eat! Don’t worry, God has more than provided for this two years. It’s been amazing to watch really. But sometimes like right now there are so many other hands that want in our pocketbook and I’m not sure how to deal with it all, and honestly it gets pretty heavy.

For instance in just the last 5 days there have been issues with the rent (resolved – but still stressful!), issues with Chris’ truck (complicated now), complete stopping of food assistance (promised to be back up but it’s not yet), Chris’ loan issues (long story..getting longer), a flat on my bike (which is my transportation right now!), legal aid had their files stolen so I gotta protect myself and Chris from identity theft…get the idea? We’re talkin’ less than a week and all of this has happened day after day! Really all I can do is laugh right now! I don’t know why the enemy would take his time to stack all that up…I’m not givin’ in!

Even though the rushing waters have indeed swayed me and raged against faith I think I’ll just swim! I refuse to allow it to wash me away into some victim mentality. I won’t be taken under because as the scripture says it won’t over take us! He certainly didn’t promise it would not come though!

So what about the river? I’d say let’s just jump in and swim! It will all get sorted out, it always does. And in my prayer time this morning I at least found a peace. I am beginning to at least figure out where to start in taking care of some of it! We are more than conquerors in Christ! He has already overcome the river! So let’s go for a swim!

  1. #1 by Connie on October 7, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    Must be a major move coming – EVERYTHING is in upheaval and He isn’t leaving many clues so you can come up with your own plan. Just enough so you can get things ready for His own already orchestrated, already provided for, already foreseen and prepared for magnificent surprise. He’s even saying your very identity is His own. You better keep me posted – I don’t wanna miss this (like I missed the radio again yesterday – LOL).

    Like

  2. #2 by Julia on October 7, 2010 - 4:47 pm

    Nothing, is too big for the Lord and peace in the name of the Lord! He is your rock and your salvation in HIM you do trust and nothing by any means shall come near your (HIS) dwelling place….and there is love surrounding you my sister! You are STRONG in the LORD and the POWER of HIS MIGHT! We love you Jeanie!

    Like

    • #3 by Jeanie Olinger on October 7, 2010 - 7:04 pm

      Thanks, Julia! Yeah, He is my rock! I have no doubt! I don’t think I could make it through all this without standing, leaning, sitting, crying on Him!! 🙂

      Like

  3. #4 by Jeanie Olinger on October 7, 2010 - 6:58 pm

    Lol! You know, that’s all I can figure!! (Yeah I missed the radio too, but I got to tutor and so that was good!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

