What ever happened to “peace be still”?

Today I am just tired! Can’t explain it, but it’s just when you are too tired, through and through. I am not even going for my run this morning, decided to let the poor ole body rest!…now you know I am tired!!

But no matter how I feel, I will make another day. I will learn to wait on Him more today and in the waiting there is strength. What an opportunity to test some of the things I have learned.

But I was thinking about this storm (and furnace) I am in. I thought about the promises we have had about Chris. God has given us two unsolicited promises. One of them was an angelic messenger who just appeared in my dad’s bedroom one night. He told my daddy that Chris had honored his father and mother (and this is true) and that Chris would have a good long life. The promise was to restore Chris. When it gets dark it’s hard to grasp these types of things.

I choose to believe the promise. The thing is, he didn’t mention how long it would take! I thought we’d be back on our way by now with this fire simply a thing of the past. But God has not erased the fire. He hasn’t caused it all to just stop. He never promised what the middle would look like, only the end.

Then my thoughts went to Paul in Acts 27. He had advised the men to not even go out on the ship but they were determined to make the trip and they got caught in a terrible storm. Paul had a visit from an angelic messenger that night too. The angel assured Paul that they would all be okay but the ship would be lost. Now see, my thoughts are like, why didn’t he just make the storm go away? But in this instance Jesus was not standing saying Peace be still. He was simply assuring their safety through the storm.

Wonder what they were thinking as the storm raged on that next night? Did they trust what God had spoken to Paul? Paul even encouraged them to stay in the ship when logic and experience told the sailors to abandon. Paul knew the story of how Jesus stood up in the boat and said, “Peace be still.” But he did not see the Father doing it in his situation. Perhaps he thought about that story that night.  Perhaps he had considered jumping ship too! How many times I would love to have abandoned ship, but my love for Chris held me like an anchor by the heart.

I must rest in the calm assurance of His promises today. No matter what I see, no matter what I feel, no matter how Chris does today. I will trust that no matter how long the storm Chris will be restored.

  1. #1 by Margie on September 30, 2010 - 1:56 pm

    I really enjoyed this,i know Chris will be restored,the anointing will be awesome in Chris’s life!God Bless
    you and your dear family! I will continue to pray for Chris,i believe he is a special young man!

    Margie Sanders

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on September 30, 2010 - 2:16 pm

      I am glad you got a little something out of this blog! Thank you so much for continuing to pray for Chris. God said lots of things about Chris when he was a young child, even before he was born. I do not believe God has changed His mind one bit. When he is restored, it will be quite a job to keep up with him! He already has invitations to share his testimony in Alaska (the Native Americans there are praying for him) and he has an invitation to share in Pakistan. (there are people there praying for him as well.)

      Like

    • #3 by Jeanie Olinger on October 3, 2010 - 1:02 pm

      Thanks so much for keeping him in your prayers. I know God is going to restore him. Again, thanks so much for the prayers!

      Like

  2. #4 by Judy Culbert on October 2, 2010 - 2:43 am

    Sister Jeanie,

    Remember what the angel Gabriel told Daniel about his prayers?

    To many people are fighting for Chris because we know that God has great plans for him. We just to stand and then again keep standing.

    Love Ya!!

    Like

    • #5 by Jeanie Olinger on October 2, 2010 - 3:29 am

      Absolutely correct! There are people literally all over the world praying for Chris. One of my friends in Pakistan prays for Chris every single day at exactly the same time every day. He get very excited when we get to skype and he can see Chris’ progress first hand. He starts praising God for His work. And Chris has an appointment to go there and speak to share his testimony after God raises him up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

