The three Hebrew children…in the furnace

My friend, Vickie, left a comment yesterday about the three Hebrew children, This morning I turned my thoughts to them and Daniel. The thing with the 3 who were thrown into the furnace that sticks out to me was their statement to the king. They told him, that God was more than able to deliver. However, even if He did not, they would not bow to worship another. I love that dedication and devotion!

But then my mind went to Daniel and how he “made up his mind” that he would not defile his body. Here he was a captive, he’d lost everything but he was determined. I have made up my mind that I won’t give up while in this furnace. Actually, there just is no other choice for me. The word is too ingrained in my spirit! Besides, where else would I go?

So then I thought about the end of the book of Daniel. He had been reading Jeremiah’s writings. Jeremiah had said they would be in captivity for 70 years. Daniel did a little counting and realized it had been the allotted time and began to pray to ask God what was up.

There were a couple of things that stood out to me this morning. First he was reading the word! That’s so key to being in the furnace. Sometimes all I can read is one psalm over and over! And at times I can only read one verse again and again. But I cannot let up on putting the sustaining word into my spirit…

The other thing that I thought about with Daniel is that it had been 70 years. 70 Years! Wow, and I am run down and weakened at trying to hold on and endure only 2 years! For all that time in captivity he never let go of God or His word. I pray that as I face this day, I will have this same spiritual tenacity.

I know I must have His word to sustain me during this time. Today I will hold to Isaiah 54:10. His covenant of peace will not be shaken. It’s not that it won’t move or be disturbed, it will not even shake! I have to choose to hold on to His promises no matter what my eyes see. I will cling to Him today as I try to walk through it keeping my faith all in one piece!

  1. #1 by Connie on September 28, 2010 - 3:46 am

    Once in a while, you run into someone’s journey you just know you are supposed to watch; or even participate in when it’s appropriate. When we sense this call and get into it with both our eyes and our hearts, we may just learn some deep lessons without having to walk this road ourselves. Or if it turns out we do have to walk this way, we will be blessed to have some training that will make us more able to keep faith and stand firm from the beginning. Thank you, friend, for allowing us to come into your life and glean from your journey.

    Like

    • #2 by Jeanie Olinger on September 28, 2010 - 12:54 pm

      Thank you so much for choosing to join us in this journey. It would have been easy from where you are to just nod our direction and continue your own walk! Thanks for coming along for the ride!

      Like

Leave a Reply

